
Warning: This article contains strong language... and we're talking the f-word here folks
Published: 15 November 2006 11:15 GMT
Microsoft has become the victim of pranksters who have replaced DNS information held on several sub-domains, which look like they are held by Microsoft - though they are not - with a string of potty-mouthed insults aimed at the software giant.
Comments levelled at Redmond, which all show up as convoluted extraneous domains, include slurs along the lines of microsoft.com.will.be.beaten.with.my.spanner.net and microsoft.com.is.a.steaming.heap.of.fucking-bullshit.net as well as the apparently pro-open source comment: microsoft.com.should.give.up.because.linuxisgod.com.
Security from A to Z
Click on the links below to find out more...
A is for Antivirus
B is for Botnets
C is for CMA
D is for DDoS
E is for Extradition
F is for Federated identity
G is for Google
H is for Hackers
I is for IM
J is for Jaschan (Sven)
K is for Kids
L is for Love Bug
M is for Microsoft
N is for Neologisms
O is for Orange
P is for Passwords
Q is for Questions
R is for Rootkits
S is for Spyware
T is for Two-factor authentication
U is for USB sticks/devices
V is for Virus variants
W is for Wi-fi
X is for OS X
Y is for You
Z is for Zero-day
At the time of writing the comments were all showing up when searching for genuine DNS information on the Microsoft.com domain using the Whois database. And it appears they have been available for quite some time. (Screen grab here). They show up ahead of the relevant results because of the prevalent use of 'microsoft.com' and remind businesses of the need to be aware of anywhere their brand is being abused and any means used to do so. Other major companies have also been abused in this way.
The Whois database typically contains data on the registered owner of a domain, such as contact details as well as expiry date of the domain and the date it was registered.
However, a spokeswoman for Whois denied any hacking of its own service has occurred and said its search is just pulling information from the crsnic.net database which is owned and operated by Verisign.
It is unclear who the guilty party is though one line on the page reads: microsoft.com.zzz.is.0wned.and.hax0red.by.sub7.net.
It seems likely this is a reference to the Sub7 backdoor Trojan which is a popular tool among hackers and script kiddies bent on causing disruption through largely childish and offensive website defacements.
At the time of writing Verisign had not responded to questions about the listing.
Directory infrastructures involving tens of thousands of users, covering multiple domains and business units.knowledge of DNS, Kerberos, LDAP and ...
Other roles will include: - Create, delete, and modify Active Directory and Lotus Notes user accounts - Maintain and troubleshoot the Windows 2003 ...
Ideal candidates MUST have experience working in a large global financial/banking environment in key areas: Design, implementation & support of ...
CIO50 2008
The silicon.com CIO50 2008 profiles the most influential and innovative tech chiefs in the UK across all industries and organisation size, from the biggest FTSE100 companies to high growth dot-com start ups and the public sector. The list was voted on by the UK CIO community and a panel of experts. Find out more in our latest special report.
Stories from the web...
Copyright ©1995-2008 CNET Networks, Inc. All rights reserved. Top of page
Peter Cochrane Peter Cochrane's Blog: Is convergence a fiction? Or could it finally be happening…
Clive Longbottom Quocirca's Straight Talking: A game of two halves Microsoft Virtualisation scores while its SOA bores...